DCSIMG
Community Commitment
EmailPrint

Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice (RDHAP) Educational Course

The Pacific Center for Special Care is pleased to offer a primarily web-based postgraduate program on oral health for people with complex needs. This online program has been approved by the California Dental Board to satisfy the 150-hour education requirement for the Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice (RDHAP) license in California. The four-month program is offered twice each year.

Program Description

As California's population continues to grow, it has become one of the most diverse in the U.S. Promoting oral health is becoming increasingly challenging. This course was designed for dental professionals who would like to expand their knowledge and ability to treat people with complex physical, medical, psychological or social situations. The program is primarily Web-based and was designed to reach professionals in both rural and urban areas. Two in-person sessions, one at the beginning and one at the end of the program, allow students to meet and interact with their peers and instructors.

Primary topic areas covered in this program include information management; dental hygiene practice; medically complex patients; oral pathology; pharmacology; developmental disabilities and oral health care; geriatrics; medical and dental emergencies; business administration for dental hygienists; treatment for children with and without special needs; case studies and a community field assignment.

The Pacific program is open to any oral health professional interested in oral health for people with complex needs and is not limited to individuals who will be applying for the RDHAP license. This program provides more than 100 hours of continuing education credit. Some states limit the amount of online credits that are counted for license renewal. Please check your state licensing board regulations.

State Requirements to Obtain the RDHAP License

The RDHAP License is granted by the California Dental Hygiene Committee.  Requirements and application procedures are listed on their web site.  Requirements to apply for the RDHAP license are:

  • Applicants must hold a current California license as a Registered Dental Hygienist
  • Have been engaged in clinical practice as a dental hygienist for a minimum of 2,000 hours during the immediately preceding 36 months (which can be in California or another state)
  • Possess a bachelor's degree or its equivalent
  • Complete 150 hours of an approved educational program (this course)
  • Pass a written examination in California law and eithics

Further details about these requirements are available on the California Dental Hygiene Committee website.  Note that the 150-hour educational program (this course) can be taken at any time and does not require the completion of the other requirements listed above. The RDHAP license may be applied for at any time after completion of this course, when the other requirements have been satisfied. For inquiries about requirements for or applying for the RDHAP license, please contact the California Dental Hygiene Committee.


How to Apply

Please include your $200 nonrefundable application fee with your application. It will be applied to your program fee upon confirmation into the program.

Applications are accepted until three weeks prior to the program start date. Enrollment for this program is limited, and applications are processed on a first-come first-serve basis. We encourage you to submit your application as soon as possible.

For more information, please contact Maureen Harrington at 415.385.5017  or email her at pc_events@pacific.edu.  

Fees

Program fee for this course is $3,975. A $1,000 deposit is due upon confirmation of application to the program. This fee reserves the participant's enrollment and is not refundable 30 days prior to the start of the program. The remaining fee is due one week prior to the start of the first in-person session. Program fees are non-refundable after sessions have begun.

STEPSDETAILS/DEADLINES
Registration Began  September 2014
Application Fee  $200 a non-refundable fee
Confirmation Fee  $1,000 due upon confirmation of application
Program Fee Deadline  January 31, 2015
Start First In-Person Session  February 6, 2015
End & Final In-Person Session  May 8, 2015

COMPUTER REQUIREMENTS

See computer requirements here.  It is the responsibility of the student to confirm that their computer is compatible with course programs. Test your computer by opening and running the presentation tutorial here. Close the tutorial when you are finished by clicking the "X" in the upper right hand corner of the window.

Student Kit

Reading materials and references are optional.