News and Events

Dental School Celebrates Commencement Weekend

Dean Ferrillo and Dr. DeRosa at the 2009 Graduation Ceremony.

June  16, 2009

Graduates, family and friends joined faculty and staff of the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry to celebrate a joyous weekend of graduation activities in San Francisco.

Dr. Donald DeRosa, president of University of the Pacific, and Dr. Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr., dean of the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, conferred degrees upon 205 graduates in the DDS, IDS, AEGD, Dental Hygiene, Graduate Orthodontic and OMFS programs during the dental school's 115th Commencement Ceremony. The event was held at the Nob Hill Masonic Center on June 14.

Dr. Donald DeRosa, outgoing president of University of the Pacific, delivered the commencement address to a crowd of more than 2,500 graduates and guests.

Graduation 09_IDS

IDS Class of 2009

Dr. Paul Rogers, DDS valedictorian, also addressed his fellow graduates. Rogers, who ranked first in the DDS class of 137 students, received numerous honors and awards for his scholastic achievements. Joining him at the top of the class of 2009 was Dr. Ahmad Alnatour, who was named valedictorian of the International Dental Studies class.

Alumni/Graduate Banquet

Alumni of the dental school welcomed the new graduates and celebrated their accomplishments during a black-tie event on Friday. Held at The Ritz-Carlton, the 72nd annual Alumni/Graduate Banquet provides an opportunity for the Alumni Association to officially recognize the graduates as alumni of the school. More than 430 guests enjoyed dinner, awards and dancing.

The new Alumni Association president Dr. Marvin Carnow '74A greeted the class of 2009 and Dr. Craig Yarborough, executive associate dean, presented awards to graduating students and residents. The event included remarks from Dr. DeRosa, Dr. Ferrillo, 2009 Associated Student Body president Emerson Lake, 2009 class president David Goerig and 2009 IDS class president Ahmad Alnatour. In addition, the 2009 class presented a check in the amount of $30,000.01 — one of the largest class gifts in the school's history — to the school's Dean's Fund for Excellence. The following faculty members received awards for outstanding achievement: Drs. Philip Buchanan, Lola Giusti, Ward Noble, Lawrence Gardner, Abida Cheema, Eric Salmon and Brian Kenyon.

Thanks A Bunch Brunch

Thanks a Bunch Brunch reception

Thanks A Bunch Brunch

On Saturday, June 14, graduating students expressed gratitude to nearly 350 family members and friends for their support during the annual Thanks a Bunch Brunch in the grand ballroom of the Fairmont Hotel. Graduates recognized loved ones with Pacific's PhT ("Putting him/her Through") certificates. During the event's ceremony, group practice administrators Drs. Russell Woodson, Jeffrey Kirk, Lola Giusti and Eric Salmon read special notes of thanks that each graduate wrote for their PhT recipients.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon

Following the brunch, the Delta Delta Chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon national dental honor society held its annual convocation at The Olympic Club in San Francisco. Only 12% of the top 20% of the graduating class are voted into the honor society by current OKU faculty members, who make their selections based on leadership, character and scholarship.

OKU induction

OKU induction

OKU Chapter President Dr. Russell Woodson and Dean Ferrillo inducted the following Class of 2009 graduates into OKU: Drs. Thomas Barrington, David Bird, Olga Dudinskaya, Silas Dudley, Blair Isom, George Kohout, Jordan Lamberton, Cassidy Lavorini, Matthew Mynsberge, Fernando Pessoa, Paul Rogers, Laurel Trotter, Beau Ulrich, Diana Ulrickson, Beth Yamashiro, Jan Yamashiro, Ahmad Alnatour (IDS), Edgar Mafla (IDS) and Chong Pei Pung-Yamato (IDS). Faculty membership was extended to Dr. Lucinda Lyon. Honorary membership was extended Dr. Donald DeRosa.

Phi Kappa Phi

With a focus on higher education, Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary honor society in existence. Admission is by invitation only and requires both superior scholarship and good character as criteria for membership. The name Phi Kappa Phi comes from the initial letters of the Greek words forming its adopted motto: Philosophia krateito photon.

Members selected from the Class of 2009 are David Bird, Silas Dudley, George Kohout, Jordan Lamberton, Fernando Pessoa, Paul Rogers, Laurel Trotter, Beau Ulrich, Diana Ulrickson, Beth Yamashiro and Ahmad Alnatour (IDS).

Tau Kappa Omega

Tau Kappa Omega, an honor society in dentistry, was organized at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1927 for promotion of honor and service to the alma mater. Students are admitted on the basis of ideals, scholarship and character.

Members selected from the DDS Class of 2009 are Craig Andresen, Rachel Appelblatt, Thomas Barrington, David Bird, Hernan Cardenas, Tyson Davis, Matthew Dodson, Olga Dudinskaya, Silas Dudley, Liora Eidelstein, Troy Follmar, Ryan Francois, Scott Frey, Brian Gilmore, Justin Hannon, Andrew Hoover, Samuel Infantino, Blair Isom, George Kohout, Jordan Lamberton, Cassidy Lavorini, Samantha Manierre, Stephanie Moniz, Matthew Mynsberge, Robert Passamano, Arti Patel, Jared Persinger, Fernando Pessoa, David Platt, Jared Pool, Paul Rogers, Raja Shah, Megan Shingler, Peiti Su, Laurel Trotter, Beau Ulrich, Diana Ulrickson, Brett Williams, Joel Williams, Julian Wilson, Eric Wood, Beth Yamashiro and Jan Yamashiro.

Members selected from the IDS Class of 2009 are Drs. Ahmad Alnatour, Andriy Kulyk, Edgar Mafla, Chong Pei Pung-Yamato, Simona Trofimov and Shruti Vaidya-Kane.

Category Type: Honors and Awards, Alumni, Special Events

Contact:  Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,