News and Events

Dugoni School of Dentistry Commencement Weekend Celebrates Class of 2010

Students gather at the 2010 Commencement Ceremony.

June  15, 2010

Family, friends, faculty and staff gathered in San Francisco June 11-13 to celebrate with the dental school's newest graduates. After months of exams, national boards and job and residency applications, the Class of 2010 was commemorated with a weekend of graduation festivities.

During the dental school's 116th Commencement Ceremony, held at San Francisco's Davies Symphony Hall on June 13, Dr. Philip Gilbertson, the outgoing provost for the University, gave a speech to the crowd of nearly 3,000 graduates and guests. University President Pamela Eibeck and Dean Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr. then conferred degrees upon graduates in the DDS, IDS, AEGD, Dental Hygiene, Graduate Orthodontics and OMFS programs.

Dean Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr. speaks at the Commencement Ceremony at Davies Symphony Hall

Eibeck, who is approaching her one-year anniversary as University president, delivered remarks to the graduates and reflected on the education and training they received during their time at the Dugoni School of Dentistry

"Class of 2010, you possess a dental education that is second to none," said Eibeck. "Graduates of the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry understand that they are treating whole people, and that oral health, mental/emotional health and community health are inextricably connected."

Dr. Rebecca McConkie, DDS valedictorian, also addressed her fellow graduates. McConkie, who ranked first in her class, received numerous honors and awards for her scholastic achievements. Joining her at the top of the Class of 2010 was Dr. James Galea, who was named valedictorian of the International Dental Studies class.

Alumni/Graduate Banquet

Alumni of the dental school welcomed the new graduates and celebrated their accomplishments during a black-tie event on Friday, June 11. Held at the Ritz-Carlton, the annual Alumni/Graduate Banquet provides an opportunity for the Alumni Association to officially recognize the graduates as alumni of the school. Nearly 450 guests enjoyed dinner, awards and dancing.

The new Alumni Association president, Dr. Deborah Woo '86, greeted the class of 2010 and Dr. Craig Yarborough, executive associate dean, presented awards to graduating students and residents. The event included remarks from Drs. Eibeck and Ferrillo, DDS class president Nima Aflatooni and Galea, who was also IDS class president this year.

Thanks a Bunch Brunch

Student Tony Leite with family at Thanks a Bunch Brunch 2010On Saturday, June 12, at the annual Thanks a Bunch Brunch at the Fairmont Hotel, graduating students expressed gratitude to family members and friends for their support during dental school. Graduates recognized loved ones with notes of thanks, which were read aloud by the group practice administrators, Drs. Russell Woodson, Jeffrey Kirk, Lola Giusti and Eric Salmon.  

Omicron Kappa Upsilon

Following the brunch, the Delta Delta Chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) national dental honor society held its annual convocation, also at the Fairmont Hotel. Only the top 12 percent of the graduating class are voted into the honor society by current OKU faculty members, who make their selections based on leadership, character and scholarship.

Dr. Foroud Hakim, Dean Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr., Nancy Hsu and Dr. Eddie Hayashida at the OKU ConvocationOKU Chapter President Dr. Foroud Hakim and Dean Ferrillo inducted the following Class of 2010 graduates into OKU: Jacob Barber, Chelsea Bernstein, Loren Cadelinia, Brent DeLong, Barry Dunn, Jennifer Fountain, Nathan Hinckley, Nancy Hsu, Adam Kirkpatrick, Rebecca McConkie, Derek Miller, Ryan Mirchel, Julia Ng, Martin Schellinck, Nicole Shinbori, Megan White, Desy Wilson, James Galea (IDS), Rafia Jawed (IDS) and Anthony Leite (IDS). Faculty membership was extended to Drs. Christine Peters and Paul Subar, and honorary membership was extended to school employee Joan Yokom.

Phi Kappa Phi

With a focus on higher education, Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary honor society in existence. Admission is by invitation only and requires both superior scholarship and good character as criteria for membership. The name Phi Kappa Phi comes from the initial letters of the Greek words forming its adopted motto: Philosophia krateito photon.

Members selected from the Class of 2010 are Jacob Barber, Chelsea Bernstein, Loren Cadelinia, Brent DeLong, Barry Dunn, Jennifer Fountain, Nathan Hinckley, Adam Kirkpatrick, Rebecca McConkie, Ryan Mirchel, Julia Ng, Kevin Perry, Martin Schellinck, Nicole Shinbori, Megan White, Desy Wilson, James Galea (IDS) and Rafia Jawed (IDS).

Tau Kappa Omega

Tau Kappa Omega, an honor society in dentistry, was established at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1927 for promotion of honor and service to the alma mater. Students are admitted on the basis of ideals, scholarship and character.

Members selected from the DDS Class of 2010 are Maryam Abulhasan, Heather Ballentine, Jacob Barber, Kelcie Barnts, Carly Barrett, Chelsea Bernstein, Loren Cadelinia, Garrett Chappell, Judy Chau, Kristy Chu, Benjamin Counihan, Anthony DeFont, Brent DeLong, Barry Dunn, Jennifer Fountain, Christopher Galea, Sara Garcia, Kiri Herchold, Nathan Hinckley, Nancy Hsu, Michael Jensen, Jill Kanemaru, Adam Kirkpatrick, Ian Leopold, Rebecca McConkie, James Michaud, Derek Miller, Ryan Mirchel, Julia Ng, Scott Ngai, Kasey Perry, Kevin Perry, Martin Shellinck, Bradley Schluter, Seth Senestraro, Nicole Shinbori, Elizabeth Smith, Paula Sones, Nakako Uritani, Megan White, Desy Wilson and Lauren Young.

Members selected from the IDS Class of 2010 are Joann Curameng, James Galea, Rafia Jawed, Anthony Leite, Marcela Marin, Anuradha Patil and Suhani Shah.

Category Type: Special Events, University

Contact:  Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,