News and Events

Top Students at Dugoni School Receive Inesi Prize in Physiology

Dr. Giuseppe Inesi, Dugoni School professor and Dr. Earl R. and Tannia Hodges Endowed Chair in Physiology.

November  17, 2008

Six students from the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry are winners of the 2008 Inesi Prize in Physiology. Jake Barber, Loren Cadelinia, Kiri Herchold, Nathan Hinckley, Martin Schellinck and Desy Wilson, all members of the Class of 2010, were honored today by Dean Patrick Ferrillo, Jr. at a reception for outstanding scores in their physiology course.

"These six students not only performed at the top of their physiology class, but were the academic and intellectual leaders of the course," said Dr. Joel Cohen, professor and course director of physiology at the dental school. "They have demonstrated excellence in their knowledge of physiology on a national scale."

Established in 2003 by Dugoni School faculty member Dr. Giuseppe Inesi, the award recognizes the academic performance among students in physiology at the dental school. Since its inception, 26 students have received the Inesi Prize.

A faculty member since 1972, Inesi conducts extensive research on calcium transport and holds the Dr. Earl R. and Tannia Hodges Endowed Chair in Physiology. He is a past professor at Carnegie-Mellon University, UCSF, University of Maryland and Stanford University. Inesi received his doctor of medicine degree from the University of Modena, Italy, and his Ph.D. from the University of Bologna, Italy. In addition to funding the Inesi Prize, he is a contributor to the Dean's Fund for Excellence.

Category Type: Honors and Awards

Contact:  Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,